Students are prohibited from using any device capable of electronic paging, two-way communication, text messaging, instant messaging, video calling, and/or audio calling during the instructional day while on school premises owned, rented by or under the control of the District. Such devices may be used outside of the instructional day on school premises. For the purposes of this regulation, the term "instructional day" is defined as the moment a student enters the school building until the final dismissal bell or until detention ends. This includes, but is not limited to, study halls, lunch break, class changes and any other structured or non-structured activity that occurs during the normal hours that school is in session

All devices that can take a picture, record video, and/or audio are prohibited from use at all times in the school or during school activities unless authorized by the building principal or designee.

Electronic communication devices may be allowed if the Board or its designee determines that the device is used or possessed for a medical, school, educational, vocational, and/or other legitimate purpose.

Failure to follow these guidelines regulating possession and/or use of electronic communication devices will result in disciplinary action as determined by the building principal or designee. Such disciplinary action may include temporary confiscation of the device. The building principal or designee may involve law enforcement if the device is used for an illegal purpose or for a purpose that causes or could cause harm to others.

Students are solely responsible for the care and custody of cell phones that they choose to possess and use as permitted herein. TWC shall not assume responsibility for any damage, loss, or theft of any student's cell phone. Furthermore, TWC shall not assume responsibility for any damage, loss, or theft of any cell phone that is confiscated according to this regulation.

Legal Ref.:     Wisconsin Statutes
First Reading:  June 18, 2013
Second Reading: July 16, 2013
Approved:       July 16, 2013
For the Board of Education: Tom Steiner, President; Lynn Jaeger, Vice President; Cole Marshall, Clerk; Bill Barhyte, Treasurer; Dean Troyer, Member